We Live In A Political World.

I saw ten thousand talkers whose tongues were all broken

Bob Dylan: A Hard Rain’s A-Gonna Fall

Everybody gather round, that time of year, they’re on the stump.
Don’t want you but they want your vote.
Democracy: the killing joke.

Never be perfect but it’s all we got, so listen up.
Which rich shirt are you bound to pick?
Really? He’s such a prick.

Cost him a million just to open his mouth and fly down South.
Cost twice that when he flew North and gave that speech.
You know the one: last week’s.

I hear that one has a billion backers, dollars, man.
No money, no love.
It’s such a scam.

But I’m not cynical – no, not me – I hitch my star to integrity and sing.
They can’t bottle what they can’t sell.
You can easily tell.

I vote the way I always will, for hope you can’t find in a wishing well.
For the sweat that laid the railway tracks, the aching backs.
They’re out there, still.

About paparoa

Writer and researcher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

