Tuesday Poem: Bach Life.

Bach Life.

Hot beaches. Old baches. Gold memory.

Wet matches. Bent flax. Bedtime story.

Warm cordial. Green Vauxhall. Sunset glory.

Surf casting. Bait stinking. Picton Ferry.

Reader’s Digest. Nanny’s bedspread. Outside dunny.

Fresh flounder. Waves pounding. Cards, for money.

No school books. No rule book. Adults boozy.

Late breakfast. Up till midnight. New Year hooley.

Crackly cricket. We got a wicket. Lost the station.

Mum’s bikini. Dad’s Barcardi. Playing Patience.

Time to go now. Can’t we stay here? Shells, and sunburn.

Molten beaches. Crystal baches. Memories earthen.

Jeffrey Paparoa Holman

http://www.tuesdaypoem.blogspot.com

About paparoa

Writer and researcher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Tuesday Poem: Bach Life.

  1. For each image, I can make a connection. What a great poem. The way it is set out like that is very effective – like summer holiday photos in an album (black and white …)

    • paparoa says:

      Kia ora Kay – glad you like it. I sent it to North & South, thinking it might not tax them, but suit their demographic. Buggers didn’t even bother to reply. 🙂

  2. Welcome to Tuesday Poem, Jeffrey – a good kiwi poem to open with. I love the ‘crackly cricket’ – ‘mum’s bikini’ – ‘molten beaches’ – much to smile at here – the things you haul in, the way you play with sounds and words …. I wonder what our US poets and others from overseas will make of it. A ‘bach’ even. (By the way, Kay’s comment didn’t show up on here – do you need to approve it first before it shows?)

    • paparoa says:

      Hi Mary
      I think I have it sussed. I went to your site and saw the novel, Blue, and read the review – yes,I remember seeing it reviewed favourably at the time. I don’t read novels these days, too lacking in concentration – except for W G Sebald, I’m his slave forever.
      Cheers. This looks like being fun. Jeffrey

  3. yep – you need to press ‘publish’ or something before a comment shows up on your blog – tick a box perhaps? not sure with wordpress… another Tuesday Poet Helen Heath is on wordpress I think if you a hand

  4. Tim Jones says:

    “Crackly cricket. We got a wicket. Lost the station.” That one line sums up much of my childhood! And by the time I was in a position not to lose the station, we’d pretty much stopped getting the wickets.

    I think North&South may have stopped taking unsolicited submissions, though I haven’t checked with them about it. Like a number of other publications, I think they may be running poems from collections they are sent for review.

    • Paparoa says:

      Kia ora Tim
      Truth is I made it all up…never been on bach holiday in my childhood. Miners’ Picnic, yes – but we were not the kind of family/community in Blackball that had (or needed) baches. I came to them late, as an adult – lived for a while in one at Punakaiki, between jobs, c1977. The rest is just vampirism on the zeitgeist.

      North&South: yeah, they used to take some of my poems back in the early 2000s, and paid well – but hey, it is manners to respond to an email, doncha think? I guess they have made lots of people redundant, as magazine sales and profits fall.

  5. Pingback: 2010 in review | Paparoa's Blog

  6. Pingback: The Bach — fork and fiction

Leave a Reply

